top of page

FUGEE POWER




The idea for the Fugee Power campaign comes from my enthusiasm to help refugees combined with my deep love for nature.


Fugee Power is an extension of the UNHCRs’ programme- the 'Global Strategy for Renewable Energy', which aims to improve refugee lives in camps by providing them with access to sustainable heating, electricity and clean water.


For this campaign I coordinated with companies and influencers with a strong track record of refugee assistance and a passion for saving the environment. I partnered with Airbnb, who enabled donations to the campaign through their checkout flow and Amal Clooney who helped to raise our profile with her celebrity status.

I built a dedicated crowdfunding website, targeting UK citizens in demographics that show generosity and an interest in these two subjects. The fundings raised go directly into clean energy projects managed by the UNHCR and donors can track the success of their contributions via the Fugee Power website, creating an online community. My big idea is that you can change the world with just a few clicks.


Loujean Alsaman


I was born and raised in Damascus and came to the UK after the war in Syria. I studied one year of LLB Law in London, while interning for an immigration law firm where I was asked to create client-focussed ad campaigns. I loved the experience of being creative with media so I switched studies to focus on PR & Advertising. I adore communications and helping clients navigate the challenges of life in the UK. I found this course to be a great opportunity to apply my passion for making the world a better place in a practical way. In addition to volunteer work for the Shubbak Festival of Arab Culture, I took on a 6-month internship as a freelance journalist and interviewer for the Levant News. My portfolio includes conversations with academic experts, civil servants and foreign officials.


Contact: l.alsaman@protonmail.com

28 views0 comments
bottom of page